Local EBDM Sites

Local EBDM Sites in Wisconsin       

Following the competitive application process, Wisconsin has been invited to partner with the United States Department of Justice, National Institute of Corrections (NIC) to start Phase VI of the Evidence-Based Decision Making in State and Local Criminal Justice Systems Initiative (EBDM). NIC’s EBDM initiative aims to apply “empirical knowledge and research-supported principles to justice system decisions made at the case, agency and system level and seeks to equip criminal justice local and state policymakers with the information, processes, and tools that will result in measurable reductions of pretrial misconduct, post-conviction reoffending, and other forms of community harm resulting from crime.”

Phase VI of the Initiative will build off of the collaborative planning efforts undertaken in Phase V to enable state and local teams in Wisconsin to partner in implementing evidence-based strategies to improve the criminal justice system. Working collaboratively with the state team are eight local teams – Chippewa County, Eau Claire County, La Crosse County, Marathon County, Milwaukee County, Outagamie County, Rock County, and Waukesha County. Through their local CJCCs, these local teams have also developed strong collaborative, multidisciplinary EBDM teams dedicated to these efforts.  Please click the County links below for more information on each Local EBDM Site's work.